How to Find OHIP-Covered Therapy in Ontario
Therapy is covered by OHIP when a physician delivers it. Psychotherapy provided by a family doctor, a psychiatrist or any other licensed physician is an insured service, which means you pay nothing. Therapy from a registered psychotherapist or a psychologist in private practice is not covered by OHIP.
There is also a third route people miss. Ontario separately funds free programs such as Ontario Structured Psychotherapy, plus hospital and community services. These cost you nothing but are paid for by government funding rather than billed to OHIP. Both routes are free. Only one of them is OHIP.
What OHIP-covered therapy actually means
OHIP is Ontario's public health insurance plan. What it pays for is set out in the Ministry of Health's Schedule of Benefits for Physician Services, a document that lists services and the fee the government pays for each one. The crucial detail is in the title: it is a schedule of physician services.
That single fact explains almost all of the confusion around therapy in Ontario. Coverage does not depend on what the treatment is called, how long it lasts, or how severe your symptoms are. It depends on who provides it. The same hour of cognitive behavioural therapy is fully insured when a physician delivers it and entirely out of pocket when a registered psychotherapist in private practice delivers it.
The government states the general rule from the other direction as well: OHIP does not pay for health services delivered outside hospital by providers who are not physicians or practitioners prescribed under Ontario legislation. Notably, the government page explaining what OHIP covers never mentions psychotherapy, psychologists or mental health at all, which is a large part of why this question is so hard to answer online.
When you see an Ontario service described as "free therapy", it is being paid for in one of three ways. Knowing which one tells you how to access it:
- Billed to OHIP. A physician provides the therapy and bills the province per session. You need to find a doctor who does this.
- Publicly funded, not OHIP-billed. A program or hospital receives government funding and employs salaried clinicians, often registered psychotherapists or social workers. You need to meet the program's eligibility criteria and get into its intake process.
- Not publicly funded. Private practice. You pay, or your workplace benefits do.
Who is covered, profession by profession
Coverage follows the provider's profession, not the type of therapy, your diagnosis, or whether you have a referral. One qualification runs through the whole table: "not covered by OHIP" is not the same as "you have to pay". Non-physician clinicians employed by hospitals, Family Health Teams, community health centres and funded programs are paid by salary, and their care is free to you. The distinction is how the money moves, not what it costs you.
| Provider | Covered by OHIP? | Free another way? |
|---|---|---|
| Psychiatrist | Yes, fully | Referral required from a physician or nurse practitioner |
| Family physician providing psychotherapy | Yes, fully | Ask your own doctor first |
| Other physician providing psychotherapy | Yes, fully | Referral practice varies |
| Psychologist | No | Yes, when employed by a hospital or funded program |
| Registered psychotherapist | No | Yes, in hospitals, Family Health Teams, agencies and Ontario Structured Psychotherapy |
| Registered social worker | No | Yes, widely employed in publicly funded settings |
| Counsellor or life coach | No | Unregulated title; check who actually employs them |
| Nurse practitioner | Not through the physician schedule | Yes, in a funded team or clinic |
Psychologists, registered psychotherapists and registered social workers are not listed in the Schedule of Benefits as providers who can bill it. This has nothing to do with their qualifications; they are regulated professionals delivering legitimate care. It is purely a question of which providers the Health Insurance Act allows the province to pay directly.
Be careful with the word counsellor. "Counsellor", "therapist" and "life coach" are not protected titles in Ontario on their own. Someone using one may hold a regulated registration or none at all, and it tells you nothing about coverage. It is reasonable to ask directly which college regulates them.
Workplace and student benefit plans commonly reimburse psychologists, registered psychotherapists and social workers up to an annual maximum. That is separate from OHIP and does not change what OHIP covers. Plans often name specific professions, so check which registration yours will reimburse before booking.
Therapy from a family doctor or other physician
This is the least understood route and often the most useful one. A licensed physician in Ontario can provide psychotherapy and bill OHIP for it. Some family physicians do this occasionally with their own patients. A smaller group practise psychotherapy as their main work, seeing patients for regular therapy sessions exactly as a private therapist would, with no fee to the patient.
Ontario's own fee schedule formally recognises this as a distinct kind of practice, through a premium that increases the amount payable for a listed set of psychotherapy codes where those services make up more than half of a physician's payments in the qualifying year.
The catch is supply, and it is severe. This route has its own guide, because finding a physician who practises psychotherapy is a different task from understanding coverage: medical psychotherapy in Ontario, and how to find a physician who provides it.
Psychiatry
Psychiatrists are physicians, so everything they do is insured by OHIP. Assessment, diagnosis, medication management and psychotherapy delivered by a psychiatrist are all covered, in hospital or as an outpatient. You will never receive a bill.
You need a referral. A family doctor, nurse practitioner or another physician has to refer you. You cannot book a psychiatrist directly, and a walk-in clinic doctor can refer you if you do not have a family physician.
The realistic constraint is waiting time, which varies widely by region and by sub-specialty. A psychiatric consultation and a course of ongoing psychotherapy with a psychiatrist are different asks; many psychiatrists offer the first and comparatively few take on long-term therapy patients, so ask what kind of appointment you are being referred for.
Free programs that are not OHIP
Ontario Structured Psychotherapy is a provincial program that provides cognitive behavioural therapy and related treatments at no cost to adults in Ontario living with depression or anxiety-related concerns. It is delivered through regional networks led by hospitals and health agencies, and coordinated by Ontario Health, which describes it on its own page as free and publicly funded.
It is free, but it is not an OHIP billing. One network lead, CMHA York Region and South Simcoe, states this directly: the program is not billed through OHIP, it is provincially funded and delivered through community organisations, and there is no charge to you regardless of your OHIP status. That is why, in most regions, you can refer yourself without a doctor.
It is also the largest single source of free structured therapy in the province, and almost no clinic-run page explaining OHIP coverage mentions it. Full detail is on our Ontario Structured Psychotherapy guide, including who is eligible, what the program does not treat, and how to reach the network for your region.
Hospital and community programs
Hospitals run outpatient mental-health programs that are free to attend. These generally require a referral from a physician or nurse practitioner, are organised around a specific population or condition, and often have their own eligibility criteria. Because the clinicians are hospital employees, you are not billed regardless of their profession. Some programs have narrower referral rules than you would expect, so check before pursuing one.
Outside hospitals, community mental-health agencies, community health centres and Family Health Teams provide counselling and therapy that is free at the point of use. Many accept self-referrals. Availability is uneven across the province and eligibility is often tied to where you live, so ask the specific centre nearest you rather than assuming.
Services that never charge and never need a referral
Crisis and navigation services are open to anyone in Ontario: 9-8-8 for suicide crisis support by call or text, Health811 for free health advice from a registered nurse at any hour and help finding services, and ConnexOntario for mental-health and addiction service information. None of these is therapy, but all of them can point you to it.
When you need a referral
- Psychiatrist — referral required. From a physician or nurse practitioner.
- Physician psychotherapist — usually a referral. Some accept referrals from any physician; some accept enquiries directly. Practice varies and there is no province-wide rule.
- Hospital outpatient programs — usually a referral. Check the specific program.
- Ontario Structured Psychotherapy — self-referral in most regions. Ontario Health states that most networks accept self-referrals; the provincial information page words this more cautiously, so confirm with your regional network.
- Community agencies and crisis lines — no referral.
- Private psychotherapy — no referral, but no coverage either. A doctor's referral does not make a private therapist OHIP-covered. Nothing does.
Virtual and phone therapy
Insured psychotherapy does not have to happen in a room, within limits the Schedule sets out. Where an existing or ongoing patient-physician relationship exists, which the Schedule calls Comprehensive Virtual Care, video is paid at the equivalent of the in-person fee and telephone at 95 percent for the main psychotherapy and psychiatric care codes. Where no such relationship exists, the service is billed under separate Limited Virtual Care assessment codes instead.
In practice this means a physician elsewhere in Ontario can treat you without either of you travelling, which matters if there is no physician psychotherapist near you. It also explains why a physician taking you on for therapy will want to establish an ongoing relationship rather than treat you as a one-off virtual contact.
Be careful with commercial online therapy platforms. Most are staffed by registered psychotherapists and social workers, which means they are not OHIP-covered no matter how the site is worded. The test is simple: ask whether the person you will see is a licensed physician.
How to get covered therapy, step by step
Do not work through these one at a time. They have very different waits, and starting more than one costs you nothing.
- Refer yourself to Ontario Structured Psychotherapy today. It needs nobody's permission. If you are 18 or over, live in Ontario, and your main difficulty is depression or an anxiety-related concern, you can register yourself. Waits differ by network: one publishes an intake response within five business days and a typical wait of about four weeks, another states contact within eight to ten weeks, and most publish nothing at all. If you are 15 to 17, networks generally direct you to BounceBack, which also accepts self-referrals.
- Ask your family doctor two specific questions. Asking for "a referral to a therapist" usually produces a list of private practitioners costing well over a hundred dollars a session. Ask instead whether they provide psychotherapy themselves, and whether they can refer you to a physician who practises psychotherapy or to a publicly funded program. If you have no family doctor, a walk-in clinic physician can make a referral.
- Look for a physician psychotherapist directly. Their sessions are fully insured with no fee to you. Our guide covers where to search and what to ask when you make contact.
- Ask about a psychiatry referral if it fits. The right move if your situation is complex, if medication may be part of the answer, or if you need a diagnostic assessment. Run it alongside step one rather than instead of it.
- Check what is funded where you live. Hospital outpatient programs, Community Health Centres, Family Health Teams and community agencies all vary enormously by region. Call Health811 if you are not getting anywhere. It is free, staffed around the clock, and exists precisely for this.
If you need help today, none of the above is fast enough. Call or text 9-8-8 for suicide crisis support at any hour. Call 9-1-1 or go to your nearest emergency department in an emergency. Ontario Structured Psychotherapy networks state explicitly that they are not crisis services.
Common misconceptions
"OHIP gives you a set number of therapy sessions a year"
The Schedule of Benefits does not specify an annual per-patient maximum for the individual psychotherapy codes a physician bills. Read that as a statement about the billing rules, not a promise: it does not entitle you to any number of sessions, and what you actually receive depends on a physician having capacity to take you on. The counselling codes are worded differently, and where the Schedule intends a twelve-month restriction it says so explicitly. The detail is in the coverage rules and fee codes.
"A referral makes a private therapist covered"
No. Coverage follows the provider's profession, not the paperwork. A referral to a registered psychotherapist is still a referral to a service you pay for.
"Free therapy in Ontario means OHIP"
Often it does not. Most free therapy in Ontario is delivered by publicly funded programs employing non-physician clinicians. Calling that "OHIP-covered" is the single most common error on pages about this topic, and it sends people looking for the wrong thing.
"Waiting for one referral is the sensible approach"
Self-referral programs and physician referrals are independent of each other. Starting both costs nothing and can save months.
"OHIP will cover it if my doctor says it is medically necessary"
Medical necessity does not extend coverage to a provider the plan cannot pay. The constraint is statutory, not clinical.
"Psychologists are covered because they are doctors"
A psychologist may hold a doctorate, but that is not the same as being a physician licensed by the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario. Only the latter can bill OHIP.
Frequently asked questions
Does OHIP cover therapy in Ontario?
Some therapy, yes. Psychotherapy delivered by a physician is an insured service under OHIP, so you pay nothing for it. Therapy delivered by a registered psychotherapist or a psychologist in private practice is not insured by OHIP. Separately, Ontario funds programs and hospital services that are free to use but are paid for by government budgets rather than billed to OHIP.
Does OHIP cover psychologists?
Not in private practice. Psychologists are not listed in Ontario's Schedule of Benefits as providers who can bill OHIP, so a private psychologist charges you directly. Their work can still be free to you when they are employed by a hospital or a publicly funded program, because their salary is funded rather than billed per session.
Does OHIP cover registered psychotherapists?
No, not in private practice. The word psychotherapist does not appear anywhere in the Schedule of Benefits. Registered psychotherapists are regulated health professionals in Ontario, but the province cannot pay them per session through OHIP. Their care is free to you only when a hospital, Family Health Team, community agency or funded program employs them.
Does OHIP cover psychiatrists?
Yes, fully. Psychiatrists are physicians, so their assessments, medication management and psychotherapy are all insured and you will not receive a bill. You do need a referral from a physician or nurse practitioner, and waits are often long.
How many OHIP-covered therapy sessions can I have in a year?
The Schedule of Benefits does not specify an annual per-patient maximum for the individual psychotherapy codes physicians bill. That describes the billing rules only. It is not a guarantee of access or an entitlement to a number of visits, and in practice what you receive depends on a physician having capacity. The counselling codes are worded differently: the first three units of K013 and K040 combined, per patient per provider in a twelve-month period, are paid at the higher amount, and additional units are paid at a lower one.
Can I get free therapy in Ontario without a referral?
Yes, in several cases. Ontario Structured Psychotherapy accepts self-referrals in most regions, and community agencies, crisis services and student services generally do not require a doctor's referral. Seeing a psychiatrist does require a referral from a physician or nurse practitioner.
Does OHIP cover online therapy?
Yes, when the person delivering it is a physician and an existing or ongoing patient-physician relationship exists. In that stream, which the Schedule calls Comprehensive Virtual Care, video is paid at the equivalent of the in-person fee and telephone at 95 percent for the main psychotherapy codes. Private online therapy platforms staffed by registered psychotherapists are not covered by OHIP.
Keep reading
- The coverage rules and fee codes in detail
What the Schedule of Benefits actually says: the codes, the time units, the same-day rule, and what it does and does not limit.
- Medical psychotherapy: therapy delivered by a doctor
The insured route almost nobody explains to patients, and how to find a physician who practises it.
- Ontario Structured Psychotherapy, explained
Free cognitive behavioural therapy you can usually refer yourself to, and who it is not suitable for.
Primary sources
- Schedule of Benefits for Physician Services (effective 1 July 2026) — Ontario Ministry of Health
- OHIP Schedule of Benefits and Fees — Government of Ontario
- What OHIP covers — Government of Ontario
- Ontario Structured Psychotherapy Program — Ontario Health
- Find mental health and addiction services in your community — Government of Ontario
- Health811 — Government of Ontario
- Physician-based availability of psychotherapy in Ontario (2020) — CMAJ Open